We recommend reviewing this article before continuing on to the training article:  Adding a New User in order to better understand and to simplify the process.

What to keep in mind when creating Usernames

When creating a new user a common alert many receive is that the username already exists.

This doesn't mean you, or someone else in your company, have created this username in your site before, it simply means that another Silvertrac user already has that username on the Silvertrac servers.

Usernames are how Silvertrac ties specific users to specific companies so they are tied to our entire database, not just your account. This allows you to maintain exact records of the reporting officer well beyond any statues of limitations.

A best practice is to make your usernames unique while at the same time keeping them simple and easy to remember.  

Many accomplish this by using a combination of first and last name initials with the  last four digits of a social security number grouping.

Example:You receive the alert that the username JohnSmith already exists.Try using the format JohnS9735 or JSmith9735.

Even though this technique will greatly reduce the amount of "User Name Already Exists" alerts (while simultaneously making it easy for users to remember their username) - you will may stillcome across seemingly unique usernames that have already been used.

It is therefore recommended that you create a savable master list of both usernames and passwords that you can reference when a user forgets their username and password.

Choosing the Right User Group

The User Group allows the System Admin and Supervisors to assign and limit the reporting access of a user to a single property or groups of properties. Whatever User Group a user is assigned is what they will see in the property drop down menu of the handheld reporting device.

A best practice is to select the appropriate User Role and then select the specific User Group that corresponds best with that user role.

BEWARE of the temptation to assign all users to all properties! It is no secret within the security industry that officers move around from company to company with somewhat frequency and the less than scrupulous have been known to try and gather client lists. It is best to limit the officer User Group to the property or properties they will be assigned ONLY. 

NOTE: Depending on your use of the User Group feature, User Groups can include:

All Properties

(R) Routes 

A Single Property

All Properties of a Property Management Company

A Single Properties of a Property Management Company

A Custom Group

Example: A supervisor role would likely include the User Group - "All Properties" whereas a standing guard's User Group should  include only the single property that he is assigned.

Example 2: A Property Manager's User Group may consist of a single property or a single property of aproperty management company whereas a Regional Manager's User Group (MU) may consist of  all properties of a property management company.

Editing, Removing and Deactivating Users and User Groups

Once a User Group has been assigned to a user you still maintain the ability to Edit and make necessary changes when needed.

Some Common Scenarios - a property manager expands their portfolio, an officer is reassigned to another post, an officer is promoted or demoted, patrol routes are expanded and redistributed, etc.

How To Edit a User and their User Group - hover over the Users Tab > Edit User > Choose User > Select User > and select the new User Group you want to assign from the drop down menu of existing User Groups.

During this edit process you can also change any of the personal information with the exception of the dark grey boxes which are the Username, the Last Login Date, and the Management Company Name as these are all specifically tied to reported issues.

To Deactivate a User - hover over the Users Tab > Edit User > Choose User > Select User > and deselect the Active User box in the upper right hand corner of the Edit User pop up.

NOTE: You cannot "Delete" a user as all the reported issues are tied to the user that created it, however making a user Inactive removes all system access and the ability the login to the system or the app.

To Edit a User Group - hover over the Properties Tab > Group Management > select the Property Group from the drop down menu > select or deselect the desired properties > Verify the Display Group in Handheld is checked > Save Group Member List

To Remove a User Group - hover over the Properties Tab > Group Management > select the Property Group from the drop down menu > Delete > Save Group Member List

Did this answer your question?